Rare Earth by Davis Bunn (review and giveaway)

Renee Ann Smith —  July 17, 2012 — 53 Comments

UPDATE: Giveaway entries closed. Winner to be emailed soon!

The novel Rare Earth played out in my head like an action-packed blockbuster. The volcano-scarred Kenyan earth, harsh Nairobi slums, kibbutz in Israel—each location came alive. And the people of those exotic locales—the crowds of desperate villagers, cold-eyed mercenaries, exhausted relief workers, corrupt officials—filled my imagination.

The story centers around quick-thinking, adventure-loving Marc Royce, a man who seems equally as comfortable with a clipboard or a pearl-handled pistol in his hands. In the words of author Davis Bunn, Mark “carries his faith into a world that likes to think Jesus no longer plays a role. He sees himself as the ultimate outsider, wounded by the loss of his wife, searching for a place he can call home, and an ideal worth living for—or giving his life for.”

Two characters greatly impact Mark’s world. First, Kitra, the beautiful Israeli nurse, lights a flame in his grieving heart and shows him that he can love again. Then the noble chief Philip hears from God in a dream that Mark is the shujaa [warrior] who will help his tribe find their true home. Together they set Mark on a path that will lead to great fulfillment—if he can survive it.

One aspect of this story I especially love is how Christians from various cultures join together to find a way to thrive, build the church, and impact events on the world stage. That establishing a cross-cultural venture involves danger, excitement, and romance makes it all the more fun!

This is from Blood Diamond, but it works, right?

Davis Bunn says, “All my books hold to one key aim—to create a story that carries a moral, and together result in an impact or challenge or inspiration or comforting assurance that remains long after the book is set down. That, to me, defines a worthy effort.”

Rare Earth reminded me that God is working internationally to help His church meet today’s challenges. And I found that greatly encouraging. So is this story a worthy effort? You bet! Score for Davis Bunn!

With my favorite novels, I tend to respond more with my heart than my head. You might prefer this more concise summary from the back cover copy: Dispatched to audit a relief organization, Marc Royce is thrust into the squalor and chaos of Kenyan refugee camps. But his true mission focuses on the area’s reserves of once-obscure minerals now indispensable to high-tech industries. These strategic elements—called rare earth—have inflamed tensions on the world’s stage and stoked tribal rivalries. As Royce prepares to report back to Washington, he seizes on a bold and risky venture for restoring justice to this troubled land. But this time, Royce may have gone too far.

Now are you eager to read this excellent story? Here are two ways you can get your hands on a copy. (1) Enter this drawing! The publisher is giving away a copy of Rare Earth to one lucky visitor. (US only.) All you need to do is leave a comment on this post for a chance to win. (Contest ends Monday, July 23rd.) (2) Or follow this link to purchase the book. (You may want to buy two, and share with a friend!)

Earn a few bonus entries:

About the author:  Davis Bunn is an award-winning novelist whose audience spans reading genres from high drama and action thrillers to heartwarming relationship stories, in both contemporary and historical settings. He and his wife, Isabella, make their home in Florida for some of each year, and spend the rest near Oxford, England, where they each teach and write. Visit Davis at www.davisbunn.com.

***Thanks to Bethany House for a complimentary review copy of this book. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Renee Ann Smith

Posts Twitter Facebook

I teach literature in a Christian high school by day and write inspirational fiction by night. I love to share heart-touching quotes and stories here on my blog. So glad you stopped by!

53 responses to Rare Earth by Davis Bunn (review and giveaway)

  1. Thank you for the invitation. Very good review.

  2. RARE EARTH sounds great! I’d love to read it. Thanks for inviting me to the giveaway, Renee. 🙂

  3. This sound awesome!!!

  4. I had forgotten how much I enjoy his books. Thanks for the review.

  5. Barbara Peacock July 17, 2012 at 7:32 am

    Thanks for letting me know about this book. I love his work, and this sounds like a great one.

  6. Thanks for the invitation and review. That sounds like a book I would enjoy.

  7. This sounds like a great story. Thanks for the invitation, Renee.

  8. Thanks for the great review. I haven’t read a Davis Bunn novel in a long time. This one sounds terrific.

  9. This sound terrific. Signed up for the newsletter and liked the FB page, too! THanks for the great review.

  10. Thanks for the invitation to win and the review. I have never read a Davis Bunn novel but this one sounds good, so hopefully I have found a new author whose books I will enjoy.

  11. Thanks for the giveaway! I just recently started reading his books and they are great. 🙂

  12. Thanks for the invite… great review– definitely grabs my interest!

  13. Thanks for the invite, the book sounds interesting.

  14. Loraine Ertelt July 17, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    Haven’t ever read a Davis Bunn book I didn’t like! This one sounds like another winner. Thanks for inviting me Renee!

    Loraine

  15. This sounds like a fabulous read. Thank you for entering me! I also “signed up” for the extra entries 🙂

    Have a fabulous day!

  16. Hello. I don’t have a website or Facebook account, but I love Christian suspense novels. I have enjoyed each of the books by T. Davis Bunn and DAvis Bunn I have read.

  17. So looking forward to this book – sounds awesome!

  18. So glad you all stopped in! Sorry that only one of you can win . . . Have a great day!

  19. Marissa Anderson July 17, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    Thank You for the invitation to win, I also “signed up” for the extra entries.
    I look forward to reading this book.

    Thank You And Have A Blessed Day,
    M.A.

  20. I think I read enjoyed something by this author several years ago, back when we were at a church that had a library. I’m always looking for a good read (without all the offensiveness!).

  21. Margaret Nelson July 17, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    I’m looking forward to reading Rare Earth, having thoroughly enjoyed the first Marc Royce book.

  22. Would be honored to read and have this on my book shelf. Thanks for that chance.

  23. Great review. Looking forward to reading this one!

  24. Barbara Moses July 17, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    Thanks for your review and the chance to enter your giveaway of Davis Bunn’s new book!
    I would love to have those two additional entries – but I currently receive Davis’ email newsletter and am also a fan of his author’s Facebook page.

  25. Love adventure books but I never know what to get. Thanks for the review!

  26. Thanks so much for the giveaway.. I also liked the author’s fb page.>:D

  27. I own several of Davis Bunn’s books. I also have the ones he co-authored with Oke. This one sounds really, but then I have never read one of his books that I didn’t like. Sure would love to win a copy of this one.

  28. Thank you for the invitation. The novel sounds great!

  29. Subscribed to newsletter.

  30. I haven’t read anything by Davis Bunn in awhile I’m hearing good things about this book. Thanks!

  31. I would love to read this it sounds really good.
    twoofakind12 [at] yahoo [dot] com

  32. Pleeease enter me in this drawing. I’ve never read a Davis Bunn book that I haven’t liked!

  33. I hope I win! I just checked out one of his books from the library last week & here he is on your blog giveaway! This is exciting!

  34. Liked on Facebook

  35. Subscribed to newsletter.

  36. thanks for the chance to read this wonderful story 🙂

  37. Serena Powell July 18, 2012 at 1:26 pm

    Sounds like a fantastic read! Thank you for hosting this giveaway

  38. Sarah Richmond July 18, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    Enter me! I would love to win this book.
    God Bless!
    Sarah Richmond
    sarahrichmond.12 [at] gmail [dot] com
    Blanch,N.C.

  39. Thanks for hosting this great giveaway! I liked his pg on fb and will now be getting his newsletter! I hope I win;)

  40. I read the first Mark Royce book and enjoyed it very much. I think Davis Bunn is a very gifted writer in several genres. His action/suspense or legal thrillers are my favorites, though he can write a good romance as well.
    I have already subscribed to his newsletter and “liked” his Facebook page.
    Thanks for the review and for giving away a copy of Rare Earth.

    pmk56[at]sbcglobal[dot]net

  41. I just finished Rare Earth and absolutely LOVED it! Definitely felt like I was covered in ash and in the middle of the action! 🙂

  42. And I had just “liked” his facebook page… which is how I found out about the giveaway. 🙂

  43. Thanks, Renee. You SOLD me! I think the cross-cultural cooperation of Christians to build the church and impact world events is exciting. We need more of that in the real world, I believe.

    Thanks for the opportunity to win a copy of RARE EARTH.

  44. Davis Bunn is the best! Please enter my name in the drawing!

  45. Thanks for the invitation to this review/giveaway. Great review of an excellent author’s newest book. I’ve read many of Davis Bunn’s (and T.Davis Bunn) books. My oldest daughter introduced me to his writing many years ago. Ah, that is a bit telling on my age, isn’t it? Anyway, please don’t enter me in the giveaway as I am in the loop to receive an early copy to review myself and am looking forward to this fantastic read. You’ve made me hunger even more for the book.

    Much appreciation!

    BTW – I work at Alamance Christian School in Graham, NC after retiring from 25 years at Cresset Christian Academy in Durham, NC. Where is your Christian school?

  46. The book sounds wonderful. I wish you many sales.

  47. Would love to read this book! Mr. Bunn is a talented author.

  48. Lu Ann Worley July 20, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    I would love to win a copy of Rare Earth. I am an avid reader and am interested in many subjects and types of ‘Clean’ books.

  49. Sounds like a good read.

  50. This book sounds amazing. I would love to read it. Please enter me. Thanks!
    ayancey(at)dishmail(dot)net

  51. I love his books. This sounds like another one I won’t be able to put down until I’ve finished it. Great review!

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. 3, 2, 1, Blastoff — Reviewers Rate ‘Rare Earth’ « Davis Bunn - July 17, 2012

    […] Renee-Ann Smith, Doorkeeper […]

Leave a Reply

Text formatting is available via select HTML. <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*