On Distant Shores with Our Greatest Generation WWII

Renee Ann Smith —  September 2, 2013 — 3 Comments
Sarah Sundin’s latest novel seriously interfered with my concentration during our school’s teacher orientation week.

Enjoying favorites

I knew once I opened the cover, I’d be swept away to the shores of Sicily during World War II—a time period that provides endless fascination for me—and have trouble returning to the “real world.”

On Distant Shores tells the story of Hutch and Georgie, a pharmacist and a flight nurse, who use their talents to treat wounded American soldiers. In spite of sweethearts waiting at home, the war raging around them, and personal struggles, Hutch and Georgie are drawn to each other. I thoroughly enjoyed their journey as they navigated Luftwaffe attacks, plane crashes, separations, misunderstandings, and more, in order to end up together. I especially enjoyed their scenes with Lucia, a little girl they saved and formed a relationship with.

What I loved most: The Setting! Sarah Sundin’s attention to detail recreates the time period so wonderfully. Casa Blanca. The sunset over the Mediterranean. Italian children playing in a beachside village. A few carefree moments on the shore with coworkers who might not make it through the next flight.

But though she helps me feel exactly what it would be like to administer an IV to a young patient on a moving C-47 cargo plane, she also helps me see the faces of those brave young men and women who formed what many have called Our Greatest Generation. They weren’t perfect. But their heroism and sacrifice never fail to touch my heart.

Every Sarah Sundin novel is a beautiful tribute to their memory.

Patton PrayerWho will love this book:

  • History/WW II buffs.
  • Homeschoolers teaching this time period to their teens.
  • Classic/old movie fans.
  • Fashionistas who admire vintage clothing.
  • Readers—from teens on up—who love a dramatic, significant, well-told story.
  • Fans of Lynn Austin, Elizabeth Camden, Tricia Goyer, Susan May Warren, and Lauraine Snelling.

You can purchase you copy of On Distant Shores at this link. Thanks to Litfuse, Sarah Sundin, and Revell for providing a copy for me to review.

Are you on Pinterest? You can follow any of Sarah Sundin’s boards at this link. My boards are here. My WWII board is surprisingly popular.

SarahSundin2About the author: Sarah Sundin enjoys writing about the drama and romance of the World War II era. The Wings of the Nightingale series (With Every Letter, On Distant Shores, and In Perfect Time, August 2014) follows three World War II flight nurses as they find love, friendship, and peril in the skies and on the shores of the Mediterranean.

Bargain-priced at Amazon right now: The Wings of Glory series (A Distant Melody, A Memory Between Us, and Blue Skies Tomorrow) follows three brothers who are B-17 bomber pilots during World War II.

Sundin lives in northern California with her husband, three children, an antisocial cat, and a yellow lab bent on destroying her writing career. When she isn’t driving kids to tennis and karate, she works on-call as a hospital pharmacist and teaches Sunday school and women’s Bible studies.

Find Sarah online here. Follow her on Facebook here.

I’m linking up with Inspire Me Monday, Miscellany Monday, Monday Musings, Hear It on Sunday, Unite @Rich Faith Rising, The Better Mom, Modest Mondays, GraceLaced Mondays, Teach Me Tuesdays, Gratituesdays, Just Write, Titus 2 Tuesdays, Teaching What Is Good, What I Learned This Week, Heart and Home, Domestically Divine Tuesday, Tuesday Muse, Raising Homemakers, Deep Roots at Home, Wise Woman Builds Her House, Tell His Story, Wholehearted Home Wednesdays, Winsome Wednesday, Wise Woman Wednesday, Works for Me Wednesday, Wednesday Hop @Adorned from Above, Hope in Every Season Homemaking Party, Thursday Favorite Things, Thriving Thursday, Hearts for Home, Thoughtful Thursday, Raising Mighty Arrows, Share the Joy Thursday, Time Travel Thursday, Desire to Inspire,Thrive @Home Link Up, Grace at Home, Faithful Friday Blog Hop, Faith-filled Friday, Fellowship Friday, Friendship Friday, Freedom Friday, Aloha Friday Blog Hop, Womanhood w/ Purpose Friday Link Up, TGIF, Friday Company Girl Coffee Link Up, Essential Friday Link-up, Sunday Collective, and Heart Reflected.

Renee Ann Smith

Posts Twitter Facebook

I teach literature in a Christian high school by day and write inspirational fiction by night. I love to share heart-touching quotes and stories here on my blog. So glad you stopped by!

3 responses to On Distant Shores with Our Greatest Generation WWII

  1. Renee – thank you so much for the lovely review! I’m glad you enjoyed Hutch & Georgie’s story!

  2. I must try this series. I think I just got the first in the series.

    LOVELY picture btw.

  3. I loved your review on this book. It will be a must read one since I am a nurse and my husband is a pharmacist. I love that era because I have family members that were in WWII. Thanks for this one and blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

Text formatting is available via select HTML. <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*